Storyl: Hazard Mitigation Plans and Other Assistance

States and federally-recognized tribes can apply directly to the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) as an applicant for assistance, but they must have a FEMA-approved hazard mitigation plan as a condition for receiving non-emergency Public Assistance (Categories C-G), Fire Management Assistance Grants, or Hazard Mitigation Assistance (HMA) project grants through the HMA grant programs. Tribes, cities or boroughs can apply through the State of Alaska as a sub-applicant; they must have a FEMA-approved tribal or local hazard mitigation plan as a condition for receiving HMA project grants through the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP), Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) program, and the Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) program. State, tribal, and local governments must update their hazard mitigation plans and re-submit them for FEMA approval every five years to maintain eligibility for grant assistance. Jurisdictions that do not have current FEMA-approved hazard mitigation plans can apply for a planning grant under the FEMA Hazard Mitigation Grant Program and the FEMA Pre-Disaster Mitigation Grant Program. Hazard Mitigation Plans may be integrated into community or comprehensive plans; they may also include a: Hazard Risk Assessment, Hazard Impact Assessment, Emergency Response Plan, Hazard Protection Plan, and/or Climate Change Preparedness Plan. FEMA requires baseline data of normal conditions to which changes resulting from disaster or hazardous events can be compared. The State of Alaska updates a statewide Hazard Mitigation Plan every three years and provides Hazard Mitigation Planning guidance to tribes and local governments through the Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (DHS&EM). Active Hazard Mitigation Plans for Alaska Communities may be downloaded from the Division of Community and Regional Affairs (DCRA).

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Share on print