Tool: Regional Subsistence Advisory Councils

Regional Subsistence Advisory Councils (Councils) are part of the Federal Subsistence Management Program. The Secretaries of Interior and Agriculture appoint Council members from 10 geographic regions within Alaska. Council members must be residents of the region in which they are appointed and knowledgeable about the region and subsistence uses and issues. All members of the public may comment and offer input on subsistence issues at Council meetings. Each Council meets at least twice a year to develop proposals to change Federal subsistence regulations, review proposals submitted by others, and provide an open forum for public expressions, opinions, and concerns regarding any matter related to subsistence.

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Return to the Resource Library